Pink tux to the prom

image

While the world outside my window is going positively googoo for gaga, and following all the latest trends on twitter about #justinbieber #onedirection and all the other mainstream idols of today, I have been looking down a path that does not lead to today, nor tomorrow, but rather a looking glass that directs me to the past. Thinking back to days when I was just a kid, retro had always inspired me fashionwise. I can almost hear my mum’s voice echoing through this empty room; telling me that my blue eyeshadow was way too strong and bright, that legwarmers weren’t the in thing anymore, or that there was no way that she would allow me to wear those shoes. Even as a 10 year old, I loved experimenting with the wild side of the fashion world. Now, with a little more experience on my hands, I can’t bring myself to say that much has changed… and it hasnt. The phase two years ago when bold trousers and leggings were all around high street stores and front covers of vogue and elle, I relished it. Now, with skater skirts coming back with a bang, I feel as if I’m living a dream; experimental style is no longer something to hide. With the help of a cliche teen tv series from 2012, my daring heart has been awakened. A wild streak is no longer something my mum chides me about, but something I get complimented on the street about. The time to be bold and to make a statement is now- but will you make the most of it?

Leave a Reply

